Slashdot Items Tagged "ai"

Date / Time Story
Tuesday February 20, 2018 @04:15PM Slashdot Asks: Which Smart Speaker Do You Prefer?
Monday February 19, 2018 @11:50PM Sony May Launch an AI-powered Taxi Hailing System
Monday February 19, 2018 @11:16AM Mitsubishi Electric Believes Its AI-enhanced Camera Systems Will Make Mirrors on Cars Obsolete
Sunday February 18, 2018 @06:43PM Google Trains AI To Write Wikipedia Articles
Sunday February 18, 2018 @12:35PM AI Can Be Our Friend, Says Bill Gates
Sunday February 18, 2018 @09:42AM New AI Model Fills in Blank Spots in Photos
Sunday February 18, 2018 @09:18AM To Fight Fatal Infections, Hospitals May Turn to Algorithms
Saturday February 17, 2018 @03:15PM Deep Neural Networks for Bot Detection
Saturday February 17, 2018 @02:29PM How Does Chinese Tech Stack Up Against American Tech?
Friday February 16, 2018 @03:06PM Scientists Are Failing To Replicate AI Studies
Friday February 16, 2018 @10:25AM AI is Being Used To Raise Better Pigs in China
Thursday February 15, 2018 @07:50PM Microsoft Launches LinkedIn-Powered Resume Assistant For Office 365 Subscribers
Thursday February 15, 2018 @01:10PM AI is Helping Seismologists Detect Earthquakes They'd Otherwise Miss
Tuesday February 13, 2018 @09:45AM Microsoft: We're Developing Blockchain ID System Starting With Our Authenticator App
Tuesday February 13, 2018 @09:05AM In the Wake of Fake News, Several Universities Including MIT and Harvard Introduce New Course On Ethics and Regulation of AI
Monday February 12, 2018 @06:26PM Amazon Is Designing Custom AI Chips For Alexa
Monday February 12, 2018 @01:42PM Google Autocomplete Still Makes Vile Suggestions
Sunday February 11, 2018 @05:55AM Facial Recognition Is Accurate, if You're a White Guy
Thursday February 08, 2018 @08:50PM AIs Have Replaced Aliens As Our Greatest World Destroying Fear
Thursday February 08, 2018 @08:49AM 'Modern AI is Good at a Few Things But Bad at Everything Else'
Wednesday February 07, 2018 @05:03PM Reddit Bans 'Deepfakes' AI Porn Communities
Wednesday February 07, 2018 @04:24PM Chinese Companies Hunt for AI Talent at American Conference
Wednesday February 07, 2018 @01:05PM 'Humans Not Invited' Is a CAPTCHA Test That Welcomes Bots, Filters Out Humans
Tuesday February 06, 2018 @08:12PM Pornhub Is Banning AI-Generated 'Deepfakes' Porn Videos
Tuesday February 06, 2018 @12:31PM AI Tailors Can Wait
Friday February 02, 2018 @02:57PM Why Alexa Won't Light Up During Amazon's Super Bowl Ad
Friday February 02, 2018 @11:33AM Nearly Three-Quarters of Adults in US Believe AI Will Eliminate More Jobs Than It Will Create -- and They Want Companies To Pay For the Retraining
Wednesday January 31, 2018 @04:17PM Ford Patents Driverless Police Car That Ambushes Lawbreakers Using AI
Wednesday January 31, 2018 @02:59PM Google Flights Will Now Predict Airline Delays -- Before the Airlines Do
Monday January 29, 2018 @11:36PM AI May Have Finally Decoded the Mysterious 'Voynich Manuscript'
Friday January 26, 2018 @02:30PM Bill Gates Thinks AI Taking Everyone's Jobs Could be a Good Thing
Thursday January 25, 2018 @12:36PM The World's First Graphical AI Interface
Thursday January 25, 2018 @10:06AM UK PM Seeks 'Safe and Ethical' Artificial Intelligence
Wednesday January 24, 2018 @01:44PM An AI-Powered App Has Resulted in an Explosion of Convincing Face-Swap Porn
Sunday January 21, 2018 @03:20PM Amazon Opens 'Surveillance-Powered, No-Checkout Convenience Store'
Saturday January 20, 2018 @09:34PM Can Machine Learning Guess True Emotions From Facial Microexpressions?
Thursday January 18, 2018 @11:39AM Microsoft Tries To Write the Book On AI
Wednesday January 17, 2018 @09:50PM Google Has Made It Simple For Anyone To Tap Into Its Image Recognition AI
Monday January 15, 2018 @09:55AM AI Beats Humans at Reading Comprehension
Friday January 12, 2018 @07:19PM French Songwriter Kiesza Composes First Mainstream Music Album Co-Written With AI
Thursday January 11, 2018 @02:09PM When It Comes to Gorillas, Google Photos Remains Blind
Monday January 08, 2018 @01:38PM Facebook is Shutting Down M, Its Personal Assistant Service That Combined Humans and AI
Monday January 08, 2018 @07:35AM What's On Center Stage at the CES Tech Show? Your Voice
Monday January 08, 2018 @07:13AM Alexa is Coming To Windows 10 PCs From HP, ASUS and Others
Sunday January 07, 2018 @12:01PM Google Sold 6.75 Million 'Google Home' Devices In the Last 80 Days
Sunday January 07, 2018 @01:19AM Researchers Create 'Psychedelic' Stickers That Confuse AI Image Recognition
Friday January 05, 2018 @03:40PM Ex-NSA Hacker Is Building an AI To Find Hate and Far-Right Symbols on Twitter and Facebook
Friday January 05, 2018 @10:53AM Amazon Alexa is Coming To Headphones, Smart Watches, Bathrooms and More
Wednesday January 03, 2018 @08:20PM AI System Sorts News Articles By Whether Or Not They Contain Actual Information
Monday January 01, 2018 @10:49AM How Do You Vote? 50 Million Google Images Give a Clue
Saturday December 30, 2017 @05:44PM Ask Slashdot: What Would an AI-Written Poem Look Like?
Friday December 29, 2017 @09:47PM Neuro, Cyber, Slaughter: Emerging Technological Threats In 2017
Wednesday December 27, 2017 @08:43PM Carlsberg Turns To AI To Help Develop Beers
Wednesday December 27, 2017 @04:34PM Human Go Champion Backtracks On Vow To Never Face An AI Opponent Again
Tuesday December 26, 2017 @08:24PM Google's Voice-Generating AI Is Now Indistinguishable From Humans
Tuesday December 26, 2017 @12:06AM Researchers Fooled a Google AI Into Thinking a Rifle Was a Helicopter
Sunday December 24, 2017 @06:15PM CMU Researchers Reveal How Their AI Beat The World's Top Poker Players
Saturday December 23, 2017 @09:22PM Project Maven Brings AI To the Fight Against ISIS
Friday December 22, 2017 @11:44PM UK Police's Porn-Spotting AI Keeps Mistaking Desert Pics for Nudes
Wednesday December 20, 2017 @08:22AM Intel CEO Tells Employees: 'We Are Going To Take More Risks'
Saturday December 16, 2017 @11:19PM Artificial Intelligence Is Killing the Uncanny Valley and Our Grasp On Reality
Saturday December 16, 2017 @04:40PM Predictive Keyboard Tries To Write a New Harry Potter Chapter
Friday December 15, 2017 @04:21PM Google Is Shutting Down Project Tango
Friday December 15, 2017 @09:39AM Samsung Targets First Half of 2018 for Smart Speaker
Thursday December 14, 2017 @03:42PM NASA, Google Spot Eighth Planet in Solar System Rivaling Ours
Wednesday December 13, 2017 @04:21PM Google To Open AI Center In China Despite Search Ban
Tuesday December 12, 2017 @08:37PM What Does Artificial Intelligence Actually Mean?
Monday December 11, 2017 @05:04PM AI-Assisted Fake Porn Is Here and We're All Screwed
Monday December 11, 2017 @12:17AM Google's Machine Learning Is Analyzing Data From NASA's Kepler Space Telescope
Saturday December 09, 2017 @04:02PM Emotion Recognition Systems Could Be Used In Job Interviews
Friday December 08, 2017 @04:32PM Insurers Are Rewarding Tesla Owners For Using Autopilot
Friday December 08, 2017 @03:49PM Elon Musk Says Tesla Is Building Dedicated Chips For Autopilot
Wednesday December 06, 2017 @04:07PM AI Can Beat Humans Only One Game At a Time
Wednesday December 06, 2017 @04:06PM Google's DeepMind AI Becomes a Superhuman Chess Player In a Few Hours
Wednesday December 06, 2017 @04:01PM Inside Baidu's Bid To Lead the AI Revolution
Tuesday December 05, 2017 @04:28PM Tencent Says There Are Only 300,000 AI Engineers Worldwide, But Millions Are Needed
Sunday December 03, 2017 @06:23PM Google's AI Built an AI that Outperforms Any Made By Humans
Friday December 01, 2017 @04:34PM Two Technologists Create Black Metal Album Using An AI
Friday December 01, 2017 @12:04PM Stephen Hawking: 'I Fear AI May Replace Humans Altogether'
Tuesday November 28, 2017 @08:03PM AI Goes Bilingual -- Without a Dictionary
Tuesday November 28, 2017 @12:02PM Google Can Tell if Someone Is Looking at Your Phone Over Your Shoulder
Monday November 27, 2017 @05:56PM Scientists Have Built Robot Muscles That Can Lift 1,000 Times Their Own Weight
Monday November 27, 2017 @04:10PM Facebook Rolls Out AI To Detect Suicidal Posts Before They're Reported
Saturday November 25, 2017 @12:16AM Google Flagged Its Own Chromebook Ad As Spam On YouTube
Monday November 20, 2017 @12:59PM Deep Learning Is Eating Software
Saturday November 18, 2017 @07:20PM Musk-Backed 'Slaughterbots' Video Will Warn the UN About Killer Microdrones
Friday November 17, 2017 @06:37PM 'Robots Are Not Taking Over,' Says Head of UN Body of Autonomous Weapons
Thursday November 16, 2017 @08:05PM Stanford Trains AI To Diagnose Pneumonia Better Than a Radiologist In Just Two Months
Wednesday November 15, 2017 @12:25PM An Inside Look At the First Church of Artificial Intelligence
Tuesday November 14, 2017 @02:56PM Without Humans, Artificial Intelligence Is Still Pretty Stupid
Saturday November 11, 2017 @03:49PM Study Finds Robot Surgeons Are Actually Slower and More Expensive
Thursday November 09, 2017 @10:56AM Philippine Outsourcing Industry Braces For AI
Wednesday November 08, 2017 @07:15PM Intel Recruits AMD RTG Exec Raja Koduri To Head New Visual Computing Group
Tuesday November 07, 2017 @01:15PM Andrew Ng Wants a New 'New Deal' To Combat Job Automation
Tuesday November 07, 2017 @12:57PM Hawking: AI Could Be 'Worst Event in the History of Our Civilization'
Tuesday November 07, 2017 @10:50AM Farmers In India Are Using AI To Increase Crop Yields
Sunday November 05, 2017 @05:40PM Humans Are Still Better Than AI at StarCraft
Thursday November 02, 2017 @05:04PM Eric Schmidt and Bob Work: Our AI 'Sputnik Moment' Is Now
Wednesday November 01, 2017 @11:23AM Rise of the Machines Must Be Monitored, Say Global Finance Regulators
Wednesday November 01, 2017 @08:08AM 'We Can't Compete': Universities Are Losing Their Best AI Scientists
Tuesday October 31, 2017 @06:08PM NVIDIA-Powered Neural Network Produces Freakishly Natural Fake Human Photos
Tuesday October 31, 2017 @05:05PM MIT Researchers Trained AI To Write Horror Stories Based On 140,000 Reddit Posts
Tuesday October 31, 2017 @03:18PM Apple Uses Machine Learning To Chronicle All the Bra Pics On Your iPhone
Monday October 30, 2017 @10:04PM Google Has a New Plan for China (and It's Not About Search)
Monday October 30, 2017 @03:36PM Seagate's New 'SkyHawk AI' Disk Drive Is Just a Slightly Higher Speced Version of Its Predecessor
Friday October 27, 2017 @10:19PM Open Source Data Sets? Linux Foundation Introduces 'Community Data License Agreements'
Friday October 27, 2017 @04:09PM Wall Street's Research Jobs Are the Most Likely To Be Upended By AI
Thursday October 26, 2017 @03:03PM This Machine Kills Captchas
Thursday October 26, 2017 @11:49AM Saudi Arabia Becomes First Nation To Grant Citizenship To Humanoid Robot
Wednesday October 25, 2017 @06:34PM Google's Sentiment Analyzer Thinks Being Gay Is Bad
Tuesday October 24, 2017 @04:16PM Tech Companies Pledge To Use Artificial Intelligence Responsibly
Tuesday October 24, 2017 @01:44AM Tech Giants Are Paying Huge Salaries For Scarce AI Talent
Monday October 23, 2017 @03:57PM Google Worked With Intel on a custom AI Chip For Its Pixel Phones
Monday October 23, 2017 @11:11AM Facebook Runs On AI - But 70% of Its Engineers Who Use AI Aren't Experts
Sunday October 22, 2017 @12:14PM When an AI Tries Writing Slashdot Headlines
Sunday October 22, 2017 @10:37AM Tesla Plans Factory In China, Discounts Insurance For Self-Driving US Cars
Friday October 20, 2017 @02:14PM The AI That Has Nothing to Learn From Humans
Wednesday October 18, 2017 @02:53PM DeepMind's Go-Playing AI Doesn't Need Human Help To Beat Us Anymore
Tuesday October 17, 2017 @03:36PM Intel Aims To Take on Nvidia With a Processor Specially Designed for AI
Monday October 16, 2017 @03:18PM eBay Launches Authentication Service To Combat Counterfeit High-End Goods
Monday October 16, 2017 @09:46AM Voice Assistants Will Be Difficult To Fire
Friday October 13, 2017 @09:07AM Does the Rise of AI Precede the End of Code?
Thursday October 12, 2017 @01:26PM We're Too Wise For Robots To Take Our Jobs, Alibaba's Jack Ma Says
Saturday October 07, 2017 @12:17AM Tim O'Reilly: Don't Fear AI, Fear Ourselves
Friday October 06, 2017 @10:20PM GM Exec Says Elon Musk's Self-Driving Car Claims Are 'Full of Crap'
Thursday October 05, 2017 @01:31PM Toymaker Mattel Cancels AI Babysitter After Privacy Complaints
Wednesday October 04, 2017 @06:36PM The Google Clips Camera Puts AI Behind the Lens
Wednesday October 04, 2017 @05:23PM Mattel's New Baby Monitor Uses AI To Soothe Babies and Lawmakers Aren't Happy About It
Wednesday October 04, 2017 @03:37PM Artificial Intelligence Has 'Great Potential, But We Need To Steer Carefully,' LinkedIn Co-founder Says
Wednesday October 04, 2017 @03:03PM Google Debuts Its $400 Google Home Max Speaker To Rival Apple's HomePod
Sunday October 01, 2017 @03:14PM Donate Your Noise To Xiph/Mozilla's Deep-Learning Noise Suppression Project
Sunday October 01, 2017 @12:00PM Meet The Next Major Operating System: Amazon's Alexa
Thursday September 28, 2017 @10:00AM 5,000 People Are Working On Amazon's Digital Assistant Alexa
Monday September 25, 2017 @12:52AM Ray Kurzweil Explains Why Technology Won't Eliminate Human Jobs
Friday September 22, 2017 @11:06PM Are Companies Overhyping AI?
Thursday September 21, 2017 @04:26PM A New Zealand Company Built An AI Baby That Plays the Piano
Wednesday September 20, 2017 @03:23PM Tesla Is Working With AMD To Develop Its Own AI Chip For Self-Driving Cars
Wednesday September 20, 2017 @03:11PM Amazon Is Reportedly Working On Alexa-Enabled Smart Glasses
Tuesday September 19, 2017 @02:57PM Google's AI Boss Blasts Musk's Scare Tactics on Machine Takeover
Tuesday September 19, 2017 @02:41PM You Might Use AI, But That Doesn't Mean You're an AI Company, Says a Founder of Google Brain
Monday September 18, 2017 @08:37PM AI Just Made Guessing Your Password a Whole Lot Easier
Friday September 15, 2017 @03:05PM Artificial Intelligence Pioneer Says We Need To Start Over
Friday September 15, 2017 @01:45PM South Park's Season Premier Sets Off Everyone's Amazon Echo
Friday September 15, 2017 @11:01AM Many Machine Learning Studies Don't Actually Show Anything Meaningful, But They Spread Fear, Uncertainty, and Doubt
Saturday September 09, 2017 @08:56PM Neural Networks Can Auto-Generate Reviews That Fool Humans
Saturday September 09, 2017 @08:41PM America's Data-Swamped Spy Agencies Pin Their Hopes On AI
Friday September 08, 2017 @04:08PM AI Can Detect Sexual Orientation Based On Person's Photo
Thursday September 07, 2017 @06:16PM IBM To Invest $240 Million To Develop AI Research Lab With MIT
Wednesday September 06, 2017 @03:46PM Hackers Can Take Control of Siri and Alexa By Whispering To Them in Frequencies Humans Can't Hear
Wednesday September 06, 2017 @03:07PM Executives Say AI Will Change Business, But Aren't Doing Much About It
Wednesday September 06, 2017 @09:17AM IBM Pitched Its Watson Supercomputer as a Revolution in Cancer Care. It's Nowhere Close
Monday September 04, 2017 @10:48AM AI Could Lead To Third World War, Elon Musk Says
Sunday September 03, 2017 @11:27AM Huawei Unveils AI Mobile Chipset Said To Rival A11 Processor In Upcoming iPhones
Friday September 01, 2017 @10:16PM 'Pay With Your Face' Technology Tested in a KFC Store In China
Wednesday August 30, 2017 @09:02AM Amazon's Alexa and Microsoft's Cortana Are Going To Work Together
Monday August 28, 2017 @10:40PM Popular YouTube Artist Uses AI To Record New Album
Monday August 28, 2017 @01:56PM To Survive in Tough Times, Restaurants Turn to Data-Mining
Sunday August 27, 2017 @02:47PM Could AI Transform Continuous Delivery Development?
Sunday August 27, 2017 @12:53AM AI Training Algorithms Susceptible To Backdoors, Manipulation
Sunday August 27, 2017 @12:08AM A Platoon Of Networked Self-Driving Trucks Will Be Tested in the UK
Friday August 25, 2017 @05:28PM Elon Musk's Neuralink Gets $27 Million To Build Brain Computers
Monday August 21, 2017 @03:02PM Leading Chinese Bitcoin Miner Wants To Cash In On AI
Sunday August 20, 2017 @11:35PM Elon Musk Backs Call For A Global Ban On Killer Robots
Sunday August 20, 2017 @11:20PM Microsoft Speech Recognition Now As Accurate As Professional Transcribers
Wednesday August 16, 2017 @11:40AM Amazon Will Pay Developers With the Most Engaging Alexa Skills
Monday August 14, 2017 @01:53PM Google Hires Former Star Apple Engineer Chris Lattner For Its AI Team
Sunday August 13, 2017 @06:47PM Why AI Won't Take Over The Earth
Saturday August 12, 2017 @03:20PM Elon Musk + AI + Microsoft = Awesome Dota 2 Player
Wednesday August 09, 2017 @04:34PM Blizzard and DeepMind Turn StarCraft II Into An AI Research Lab
Tuesday August 08, 2017 @04:19PM AI Factory Boss Will Tell Workers and Robots How To Work Together
Tuesday August 08, 2017 @10:56AM IBM Claims Big Breakthrough in Deep Learning
Friday August 04, 2017 @09:42AM Chinese Chatbots Apparently Re-educated After Political Faux Pas
Tuesday August 01, 2017 @03:46PM Google Says AI Better Than Humans At Scrubbing Extremist YouTube Content
Sunday July 30, 2017 @12:39AM Will 'Smart Cities' Violate Our Privacy?
Wednesday July 26, 2017 @01:52PM Qualcomm Opens Its Mobile Chip Deep Learning Framework To All
Tuesday July 25, 2017 @08:49AM Elon Musk Says Mark Zuckerberg's Understanding of AI Is Limited
Monday July 24, 2017 @08:58AM Quest for AI Leadership Pushes Microsoft Further Into Chip Development
Saturday July 22, 2017 @03:26PM Mozilla's New Open Source Voice-Recognition Project Wants Your Voice
Friday July 21, 2017 @10:59AM Beijing Wants AI To Be Made In China By 2030
Thursday July 20, 2017 @05:01PM IBM's AI Can Predict Schizophrenia With 74 Percent Accuracy By Looking at the Brain's Blood Flow
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @05:49PM US House Panel Approves Broad Proposal On Self-Driving Cars
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @05:45PM Dadbot: How a Son Made a Chatbot of His Dying Dad
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @04:34PM Researchers Have Figured Out How To Fake News Video With AI
Wednesday July 19, 2017 @01:00PM Many Firms Are 'AI Washing' Claims of Intelligent Products
Tuesday July 18, 2017 @05:22PM Michigan Will Build 25 Self-Driving Trolleys In 2017
Sunday July 16, 2017 @02:31PM Facebook's AI Keeps Inventing Languages That Humans Can't Understand
Sunday July 16, 2017 @01:18AM Is Homeland Security's Face-Scanning At Airports An Unreasonable Search?
Saturday July 15, 2017 @07:24PM Elon Musk Warns Governors: Regulate AI Before It's 'Too Late'
Saturday July 15, 2017 @12:38PM Can AI Replace Hospital Radiologists?
Thursday July 13, 2017 @12:59PM Artificial Intelligence Has Race, Gender Biases
Wednesday July 12, 2017 @04:47PM The Audi A8: First Production Car To Achieve Level 3 Autonomy
Wednesday July 12, 2017 @03:08PM 'World's First Robot Lawyer' Now Available In All 50 States
Wednesday July 12, 2017 @09:05AM After Go, Developers Are Now Building AI To Beat Us at Soccer
Sunday July 09, 2017 @06:15PM Google Home Ends A Domestic Dispute By Calling The Police
Sunday July 09, 2017 @04:20PM Former Oculus Exec Predicts Telepathy Within 10 Years
Saturday July 08, 2017 @02:39PM Google Funds A Team Of Robot Journalists
Wednesday July 05, 2017 @08:33AM Amazon's Alexa Passes 15,000 skills, Up From 10,000 in February
Tuesday July 04, 2017 @12:50PM Samsung Reportedly Developing a Voice-Controlled Speaker To Compete With Amazon Echo
Saturday July 01, 2017 @05:41PM Central Bankers Warned Of Possible Economic 'Robocalypse'
Friday June 30, 2017 @11:07PM New Google Project Lets You Collaborate On Doodles With A Neural Network